Novel Awards finalists announced

Outdoor brands vying for success in six categories

The finalists for the 2011 Outdoor Trade Show (OTS) Novel Awards have been named, with three products in each of six categories competing to be named the best this year.

OTS organiser MCS said there had been over 100 entries for the six categories in 2011. Entries have been assessed by a panel of industry experts and three finalists for each category selected. These include:

Accessories: Ultrasport – Contour Camera (Stand 19); Lyon – Petzl Lynx Crampon (Stand 47); Whitby & Co – Geigerrig 2l Hydration Engine (Stand 66)

Backpacks/Travel Luggage: Oase – Outwell Wayfayrer (Stand 3); Vaude – Wallaby (Stand 46); Whitby & Co – Geigerrig Rig 500 (Stand 66)

Camping Equipment: Lyon – Exped DownMat Ultralite (Stand 47); Lyon – Jetboil Crunchit (Stand 47); Rosker – Primus Omni Lite Ti (Stand 85)

Clothing: Horizon – Merino Trekker socks (Stand 51); Kozi Kidz – Soft Shell Jacket and Trousers (Stand 39a); Timberland – Mountain Athletics Aligned Jacket (Stand 65c)

Footwear: Tecnica – Diablo Max (Stand 101); Timberland – Mountain Athletics Lite Trace Mid (Stand 65c); Wolverine – Pulsar ICS Low Cut (Stand 190)

Sleeping bags: Ark Group – Nordisk Bering (Stand 10); Lifemarque – Lifeventure Downlight 900 (Stand 65b); Snugpak – Chrysalis (Stand 41)

All finalists will have their products showcased in a dedicated awards display area for the duration of the show. The winner of each category will be announced by guest judge Bonita Norris during the Outdoor Trade Social which takes place at the end of the show’s opening day, September 26, in the link area between the two halls.

MCS’s Marta Williams said: “The calibre and volume of entries for this year’s Novel Awards is testament to both the importance of recognising innovation and product development within the industry, as well as the popularity of the Novel Awards and OTS.

“Exhibitors entered the most diverse range of products to date and this will no doubt have made it difficult for the judges to select the finalists.”